What Caliber Do you prefer?

Everything Predator...

Postby v4p0r » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:07 am

Around here we hunt coyotes across corn fields so 200+ yard shots arent unusual. .308win is about my favorite for taking the long range coyotes. If im hunting somewhere where the shots will be closer i like a 17hmr of a good old .22 mag.
Real men use stick bows!!!

60lbs PSE longbow

Benelli Nova 12 GA

TC Encore
User avatar
v4p0r
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:52 am
0.00Points
Location: Southern Indiana


Postby usmcbowhunter » Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:16 pm

They don't really make these anymore but I really like .222.
usmcbowhunter
140 Class Whitetail
140 Class Whitetail
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:17 pm
0.00Points
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC


Postby spec » Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:30 am

.243
spec
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:41 am
0.00Points


Postby TheGreatwhitehunter » Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:11 am

Varmits a 22-250 is #1 :Very Happy:
THE LORD IS MY ROCK!!!
MICHIGAN WOLVERINES GO BLUE!!!
HUNTING IS NOT A SPORT BUT A PASSION
User avatar
TheGreatwhitehunter
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:37 pm
0.00Points
Location: Colorado THE GREAT USA


Postby Tippy9969 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:16 pm

In the East you don't really the need the reach or power of a .220 Swift or .22-250. You'd be lucky to get a shot over 100 yards and the very max would be between 200-250 unless you're hunting big corn/bean fields. Try a .222 or even better, a .221 Fireball in an XP-100 handgun!
Long live the beast!
Tippy9969
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:25 pm
0.00Points


Postby Zuke852000 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:44 am

since most of my shots are going to be close I stick with my .22 Mag.
ZUKE
Zuke852000
120 Class Whitetail
120 Class Whitetail
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:18 pm
0.00Points
Location: Hannibal, New York


Postby warlock » Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:51 pm

Rossi .223 single shot. with 6x24 scope
It doesn't hurt till the bone shows.
User avatar
warlock
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:45 pm
0.00Points
Location: Chester, Virginia


Postby ArkansasDon » Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:10 pm

was 243 in a remington 700 with douglas barrel & leupold scope. Now H&R handi-rifle in .17HMR topped with BSA sweet 17 3x12x40 scope.
Arkansas Bowhunters Association Life Member
Sponsor/Supporter of Women in the Outdoors
Owner/Operator of Camo Solutions: Authorized Licensed User of Mossy Oak Camo
Hunt Only Moderator
User avatar
ArkansasDon
140 Class Whitetail
140 Class Whitetail
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:19 pm
0.00Points
Location: Evening Shade, Arkansas


Postby saberbabe » Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:41 pm

since i do all my hunting w/ Ed, Im gonna say his .223 browning :[]:
saberbabe
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:13 pm
0.00Points


Postby elkdoc » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:01 pm

I have just won a .25 SSM A-Bolt from Browning. How will this work?
elkdoc
Button Buck
Button Buck
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:31 am
0.00Points


PreviousNext

Return to Predator Hunting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests