help me choose my shotgun

General Discussion on all aspects of Deer Hunting, scrapes, rubs, scoring, treestand placement, tracking.

help me choose my shotgun

Postby Zellnerz » Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:40 pm

here in illinois we arent allowed to use rifles, only shotguns firing slugs, and ive been using a pump for a couple years now, btu now im plannign on switchign to an autoloader

i wont be able to have it for this season, starts 2 weeks from last friday, then the end of november, start of december, so im plannign on saving up to buy it hopefully early next year so money isnt too much of an issue

i need it to be an auto, rifled barrel, been looking at the Browning Gold, Benelli Super Black Eagle 2, or the Winchester Super X3

id also like to find a thumbhole stock for it, and i cant find any anywhere for the SBE2, so im leaning more towards the Browning

any suggestions
Zellnerz
Button Buck
Button Buck

0.00Points

Hey man!

Postby GiLLiGaNN » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:49 am

I recommend you just get a Remington 870 Express. They are an all-around weapon and are cheap. Dont let anyone tell you they can get the job done, because I have a 15 point Non-Typical on my wall that says otherwise! Good Look In the Woods!
GiLLiGaNN
Button Buck
Button Buck

0.00Points

Postby Zellnerz » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:59 am

the 870 is cheap (350), but . . . its a pump, ive already got a pump (winchester 1300) and ive used that for a couple years now, i want to switch to an autoloader, Remington has an autoloader, the 11-87, and that cost about $800
Zellnerz
Button Buck
Button Buck

0.00Points

Postby whitetail2 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:16 am

Don't know why you need an autoloader, for slug hunting. It only takes one shot to kill a deer. I have always used pumps and single shots. Everytime I hear an auto being used, you can bet money on the outcome. Half a dozen shots later, and that deer is still running.....
A sharp broadhead is a bowhunters best friend
HuntOnly Pro Staff
NRA Life Member
whitetail2