Two Sunday Hunting Bills Introduced in Maryland

Steve Johnson

  • Keywords -
  • Category Hunting News
  • Region -
  • Prostaff Member Steve Johnson

House Bill 245 and House Bill 246 have been introduced in Annapolis. These bills have been assigned to the House Environmental Matters Committee where they await a hearing.

HB245, sponsored by the Allegany County delegation, would authorize a person to hunt turkey in Allegany County on the last Sunday in April and the first Sunday in May, except for Easter Sunday.

HB246, sponsored by both the Allegany County and Garrett County delegations, would allow a person in Allegany County and Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the last three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Game populations are at all time highs thanks to hunting as the primary wildlife management tool and leading conservation model. Hunters pump millions of dollars into habitat restoration and are responsible for healthy ecosystems throughout Maryland. Sunday hunting provides biologists, wildlife managers, and sportsmen another tool and opportunity to encourage forest health and lower the odds of wildlife-vehicular accidents in Maryland. Many hunters cannot introduce their children or friends to hunting because Saturday is their only opportunity, and they are competing with the numerous organized sports and activities. Many hunters - be it young or old, novice or experienced - stop hunting because of the lack of opportunity, both in time and accessible land. The addition of an extra day in the field increases a person's available time to enjoy our hunting heritage.

Sunday hunting will also bring a much-needed economic boost to rural areas. Every day that hunters are in the field, they spend money on gas, food, lodging and the dozens of other incidentals that go along with a day's hunt. The ripple effect of this spending can have a major impact on a rural town or county. This legislation will clearly help advance and preserve Maryland's rich hunting traditions, while enhancing biodiversity and wildlife populations.

Please contact the members of the House Environmental Matters Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to pass HB245 and HB246. Contact information can be found below.

Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
301-858-3447
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-3A)
301-858-3436
galen.clagett@house.state.md.us

Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
301-858-3288
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
301-858-3070
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
410-841-3328
michael.weir@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
410-841-3527
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A)
410-841-3378
james.malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
410-841-3205
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
410-841-3638
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
410-841-3474
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
301-858-3114
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
301-858-3961
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
301-858-3310
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
301-858-3314
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela G. Beidle (D-32)
410-841-3370
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
410-841-3284
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
410-841-3543
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
410-841-3427
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
410-841-3021
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
410-841-3487
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43)
410-841-3990
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
410-841-3257
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
301-858-3326
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

Posted by Steve Johnson under Hunting News on February 2, 10 02:11 PM | Permalink

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.huntonly.com/cgi-bin/mt/mt-tb.cgi/320

Leave a comment